Friday, April 21, 2017

Book Review----Untamed Hearts by Casey McKay


Casey McKay is back with a bang (or three) with her latest release Untamed Hearts.

Kate's life is pretty sucky and the suck gets worse when she realizes she has two options---take a slimy job with a tabloid magazine to write an expose involving a dating website, which also includes traveling to Alaska or go home and live with her mother...in New Jersey no less.

Kate's already seen New Jersey and she's pretty clear on how living with her mother is likely to go, so she takes the job.

After exchanging a few emails with Ben, she gets on a plane and heads to the wild frontier of our 49th state (I looked this up since I wasn't sure if Alaska or Hawaii was number 50).

In her rush to leave her old life behind, and make sure her friend Elle doesn't talk her out of it, Kate fails to read all of the email attachments and information Ben has sent her.

Email attachments aren't really that important, are they?

Sooooo...she arrives in Alaska and meets not just Ben, but his best friend and roommate, Aaron. Hmmm. What could all of this mean?

Yep, you guessed it...two sexy, dominant men looking for a woman to share between them.

This is a charming story. Sometimes with menage stories, the men become sort of indistinguishable, but in this book, Casey has created two distinct but complementary personalities with Ben and Aaron and it all works together very well...to Kate's pleasure and the reader's too.

There's intrigue, betrayal, triumph and enough naughty, naughty to keep the pages turning and your lady parts squirming.

Get your copy. Also FREE for Kindle Unlimited members!

Amazon 

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Book Review----The Fantasy Effect by Paige Fieldsted

Confession: I agreed to read and review this book and then I found out it was this author's first book and it was 76,000 words long. What had I done? I'd said I'd read the book and I also wanted to support a new author, so I started reading, though in the back of my mind I was thinking about what to say if I just didn't think I could get through all 76,000 words.

Then, in the first few pages I realize that the heroine has the hots for her husband's best friend.

What have I gotten myself into?

But...wow. This was the most well written first (or fourth or fifth) book that I've read in a long time. Kudos to Paige Fieldsted.

The plot kept me completely intrigued. When I wasn't reading the book, I'd catch myself thinking about it. Was this book going to have a HEA ending? And if so, what would it be? What did I want it to be? What should Chloe do? What would I do?

Basically, Chloe lusts after Carson, her husband's best friend. But, she loves her husband, Quinn, too. So, one night the three of them are out and Chloe suggests a threesome. The two men agree and it's one hot night.

That's not enough and Carson wants Chloe all to himself. That's pretty much what Chloe wants too.

But, Chloe loves Quinn. They have great sex and he's eager to have another menage because he loves how much pleasure it gives his wife. There's nothing jerky or unlikable about Quinn, either.

Carson gets her hot and bothered in a way that she's never experienced.

This book felt very real, despite being called The Fantasy Effect. Chloe would tell Carson she was done with him and work hard to resist, but her resistance wavered and they were back in the sack (or kitchen counter or shower or...).

Chloe's best friend, Dani, was a great character. She was angry with Chloe for what she was doing, but when the crap hit the fan, she was there to help her friend pick up the pieces. No "I told you so" or judgment.

This book is thought provoking and full of raw emotion. Highly recommended.

Amazon






Monday, April 3, 2017

Book Review---Alien Mate by Cara Bristol


Wow, this was out of this world (Nyuk, nyuk). 

Let's get started with the blurb:

I'm Starr Elizabeth Conner. Earth's government falsely convicted me of a crime, packed me on a ship with other female felons, and sent us to Dakon, a primitive, frozen wasteland of a planet. Why? Earth needs minerals, and Dakon is desperate for females. But I'm no barbarian’s 'mail order bride,' even if he is super tall, muscular, and the chief of his tribe. He doesn’t want a BBW blonde, either--it's written all over his chiseled face. He'll be truly angry if he ever learns what my 'crime' was.

 I am Torg. I have waited 34 rotations for a mate of my own. With this shipment, I was sure to get a fine, sturdy mate who'll bear me many daughters. Instead, I receive a small, curvy, pale-haired female who looks at me with anger and fear. It is only when we 'kiss' that I believe things may work out between us. But I'm hearing rumors that Starr and her shipmates are law-breakers. To survive, Dakonians must obey all laws … or be exiled into the frozen wasteland.  Just when I have found her, will I have to send my mate to die?

Don't miss this sexy, suspenseful sci-fi romance--preorder your copy of Alien Mate today!

I totally loved this book from start to finish. Cara Bristol continues to be one of the few authors who surprises me with the twists and turns of her plots. When the "bad guy" was revealed I sat up in bed thinking "damn, she got me again!"

Starr is smart and feisty, but also loves being cuddled and protected by her burly, horned mate. Yes, he has cute little horns that bring new meaning to the phrase "horny". 

Torg is growly and gruff, but equally tender and devoted. There are plenty of secondary characters to keep things interesting, but not so many that they all seemed like a mush of voices in the background. 

This book goes live on April 10, but you'll want to pre-order your copy today. Right now!



Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Book Review---Motorcycle Master by Maggie Carpenter

Maggie Carpenter's Motorcycle Master (Bad Boy Angel Book One) was an awesome read. The hero and heroine were interesting people with well developed characters and sizzling chemistry. Marco and Kat are both working undercover in a motorcycle gang trying to get to elusive drug lord HH.

What I particularly liked were the twists and turns in the book. With a premise where they are both working undercover (but unknown to the other) I expected that the majority of the book would be the two of them struggling with their desire but conflicted over the fact that they are not really who they say they are. That would have been an interesting book, but predictable.

Motorcycle Master is anything but predictable. Marco and Kat figure out that they are both on the same side early in the story and then work together as partners in and out of the bedroom.

Another twist that I enjoyed was the fact that the leader of the motorcycle gang, ostensibly a bad, bad person, was actually rather likeable and smart. It gave me that weird conflict that I had when watching The Sopranos---"gee, why are people being mean to Tony? Oh, wait, he's a bad man." Kudos to Maggie Carpenter for creating a multi-dimensional bad guy.

At 70,000 words, this is a hefty book that will hold you attention from beginning to end. Steamy sex and spanking, romance and intrigue. Get your copy today.

Amazon

Saturday, March 18, 2017

Book Review---Adopting Katie by Allysa Hart

When you're a book reviewer, and I am (I have a blog afterall, doesn't that mean something?) you get the opportunity to read books by a variety of authors, so I was pleased when Allysa Hart offered me the chance to read and review Adopting Katie.   

More than a romance, this is actually a love story told in a very different way. Katelyn and Mark are very much in love. After their marriage, Katelyn becomes Katie, at least at home. In addition to a Daddy who is both stern and indulgent, Katie's extended family includes "Uncle" Keith and "Auntie" Rosie, who have been friends with Mark for many years. 

I don't want to give away plot details, but I will say that this book takes some unexpected twists and turns that aren't the usual in this genre. The sexual content of the book is minimal, but there is love in abundance. 

If you're curious about the age play dynamic, this is a book that will give you a different perspective on a topic that is a hot button issue for many. 





Sunday, March 5, 2017

Book Review---Kenan's Mate by Sue Lyndon


I have so many firsts with Sue Lyndon. Claiming Their Maiden was my first menage book. Then there was a foursome in Claiming Their Princess, another first for me. I enjoyed each of these books more than I expected I would. 

Still, when I learned that Kenan's Mate was a dark sci-fi romance, I was a bit hesitant. Dark? I'm more of a sunshine and daisies kind of reader. But, Sue hasn't let me down before, so I gave it a try. 
I'm glad I did. 

The book was longer than most of Sue Lyndon's books which allowed for a slow unfolding of the characters' emotions and back stories. 

Laylah is on her way to a three month vacation on the planet Tallia when the ship is attacked, all the human males are killed and she and all the other women aboard are taken captive. Even trip insurance doesn't cover that sort of thing. 

The wormhole they traveled through is closed. There is no escape. 

Kenan rescues Laylah from the ship and claims her as his mate. 

This book contains some non-consensual sex scenes (as well as plenty of hot scenes with two willing participants). I wasn't sure how I'd feel about that, but it was handled in a way that worked with the story. I don't want to give away any spoilers. 

The world the Sue Lyndon has created on Tallia is complex and works well with the more dark aspects of this story. 

I knew the punishments might be more harsh than I tend to care for, but it was handled well. Laylah broke a rule early in the book so I knew the time would come when Kenan would find out about it and strict discipline would follow. Knowing it was coming, but not knowing when, created enough tension to keep me turning the pages and wondering how it would all play out. 

Kenan is part human part Kleaxian. Laylah is human but now must live the rest of her life in Kleaxian society. Each one must learn to appreciate aspects of the other's culture as they embrace the love that grows between them. 

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was suspenseful, dramatic, sexy and romantic. Everything you could want in a book, plus a large red alien. 

Get your copy now. 


P.S. I tried to knit a collar and leash (which plays a part in this book) but it was rather pitiful looking. I'll have to actually use a pattern next time. 


Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Book Review---The Doctor's Daughter by Patricia Green

Take a trip to Virtue, Arizona with Patricia Green's The Doctor's Daughter.

What a delightful book. Really. I don't use delightful often.


In Virtue, Arizona the town doctor has a houseful of daughters all named for various virtues. The heroine of The Doctor's Daughter is Verity. For those who aren't familiar with this virtue, verity means truth. As in verify...when you confirm that something is accurate.

Verity does not live up to her name. If her name was Stubborn, Sassy or Naughty, she would live up to her name, but Verity is not known for her honesty. In fact, she's prone to tell tall tales, sometimes for no other reason than to shock or entertain.

Verity assists her father, the doctor, in providing medical services for the people of the town. While her father is away, an unconscious (and very naked except for a single sock) man is brought in to be treated. When the one-sock wonder regains consciousness, he has no recollection of who he is, where his clothes are or how he became injured.

One thing that doesn't disappear with his memory is his libido. Eventually, the man who is referred to as Mr. Smith, and Verity engage in naughty, naughty boom boom. Mr. Smith also retains his desire to discipline a misbehaving bottom with a well deserved spanking.

At the same time that the mysterious Mr. Smith arrives in town, there's a hunt on for an outlaw. Is Mr. Smith a good guy or a bad guy? Is he married?

Patricia Green has crafted a well-written story with interesting characters and a plot that doesn't just move from sex scene to spanking scene to sex scene. There's mystery, scandal and even a dramatic courtroom scene.

To find out what happens, you'll have to get your own copy.

Buy On Amazon 

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Book Review: Infiltrating Her Pack by Dominique Eastwick



Over the last few years I've noticed that shifter books have become incredibly popular. Bears and wolves who transform from human to animal and back again. When I heard about this phenomenon and saw the massive sales of the books, I was confused. I discussed it with my husband. "Do they have sex as wolves or as people?" "Do they both shift or just one?"

Well, I finally got my opportunity to find out more about shifters when I read Infiltrating Her Pack by Dominique Eastwick. 

I thoroughly enjoyed my first shifter experience and I'm looking forward to reading more.

This book is part of the Black Hills Wolves Series, but can easily be read as a stand alone.

Z is an Infiltrator. He works alone and in the shadows. Ripley Greystone's pack doesn't have an Alpha, and a band of scurrilous coyotes (is there any other kind?) knows it. Ripley approaches Drew, the Alpha of the Black Hills Wolves asking to join their pack.

Drew, sensing there's more to the story than Ripley is telling him, sends Z to find out what is really happening with the Greystone pack. They Greystones run a rafting business so Z, as Zames, signs up for an overnight trip. When they meet...they each have a strong reaction to the other. Z realizes that he's met his one true mate while Ripley is suspicious and follows along on the trip.

This was a quick read which kept my interest the whole time. Dominique Eastwick's descriptions pulled me into the whole scene and I felt like I was deep in the woods with wolves and coyotes. There was plenty of action and danger and the sex was potent and raw.

If you're into shifter books or just looking to find out more about the genre, I highly recommend Infiltrating Her Pack.

Get your copy here.

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Book Review: Pets In Space


This collection of Sci-Fi Romance stories with "Cats, Dogs and Otherworldly Creatures" is fantastic and currently on sale for only 99 cents so you'll want to get your copy right away.

What a fun concept...books where a pet plays a significant role. And with the Sci-Fi setting, you know the pets are going to be more than just your usual Beagle or Calico kitty. There's a bearded dragon, a robotic dog, a cyber dog that talks, some cut kittens and a variety of others.

Each of the romances was well-developed. These authors are all at the top of their games and the writing shows it. Well-crafted stories and clever phrasing that pleased me from start to finish.

This book is full of those touches that let you know it's been put together with care and attention to detail. There are drawings of the animals at the beginning of each story. It's a treat to read such a professionally crafted book.

The romances are all sexy and satisfying, but the heat level overall isn't graphic, which is fine with me when the stories and characters are compelling on their own.

A bit of advice: this book has seven complete novellas and is meant to be savored.

Has this ever happened to you---You get a box of chocolates, not one of those big double-decker boxes, but one with maybe 10-15 different candies in it. You're home alone and you start working your way through all the goodies.

The first one is great so you quickly gobble up another and another. About halfway through, though, they all start to taste the same and you can't remember if you just had a peanut butter filled or a butter cream?

I attacked this book the same way.

I wanted to get from cover to cover, but about halfway through, I realized I was on overload so I put it down for a few days then went back and enjoyed the second half. Treat each story as the individual treat that it is.

This is an excellent collection and an outstanding value at only 99 cents until January 22.

Click here to get your copy. 

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Book Review: His Naughty Valentine By Sue Lyndon


Okay, what is more terrifying...someone reading your diary or getting a glimpse at your browser history? If you keep a diary, even there most people sort of self-edit and don't always reveal all their innermost thoughts, in part because they might not even be aware of all their true feelings and desires. 
But, browser history doesn't lie. And neither do those pictures you've downloaded. 

And this, my friends, is what happens to Lacey when her fiance accidentally spills coffee on his laptop and he rushes to use Lacey's laptop to join an online meeting for work. 

Lacey and Kaden have a loving, but rather ordinary, sex life. Lacey wants to tell Kaden about her desire to be spanked and scolded, but she fears his reaction. Things change when Kaden gets a gander at the naughty photos and stories downloaded on Lacey's laptop. 

In true Sue Lyndon style, this is a fun, sexy, steamy book that also includes some role play. 

This is a quick read. Just the thing to get you in the mood for your own hot Valentine's Day. 

Only 99 cents and free for Kindle Unlimited Members. 

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Book Review: Cowboy Games by Audrey Randall


Yee-Haw! This was one sexy read! Audrey Randall is a new author for me and this was a fun book.

Lana is a professional gamer (a career path I'd never considered). She and her best friend want to start a camp to teach girls about coding and when another online gamer invites her to Montana to see if his family's ranch would be a good option, she makes the trip.

When she arrives and finds that her host is a 17 year old high school student, she's a little taken aback.

But, it's the high schooler's older brother, Jesse, who takes her breath away.

There were several aspects of this book that I enjoyed. I remember playing Pong and I sucked at it. Yes, I sucked at playing Pong, the world's slowest, simplest video game. And yes, I am that old.

So, the idea of a romance novel that includes professional gamers, international travel for tournaments, and this many joysticks was new and interesting for me.

Cody, the younger brother, is a fun character. He's got a crush on Lana and though he's told his older brother (who owns the ranch due to the death of their parents) that Lana is coming for a visit, he didn't mention that he'd invited her on the pretext that the ranch could be used for the girls' coding camp. He's an endearing character and I can relate to the whole high school crush and trying to compete with his sexy brother for Lana's attention.

The attraction between Lana and Jesse is immediate and scorching hot. Things get complicated when Cody finds out that his brother is using his joystick on Lana.

Get your copy now for only 99 cents for a limited time. Click on the sexy cowboy cover in the column on the right.


Monday, January 9, 2017

Sci Fi Romance Review---Claimed By The Cyborg by Cara Bristol

Five curly stars for Claimed By The Cyborg by Cara Bristol

My stars are looking more like starfish. 

I was going to try to flatten them out by wetting them and then putting a weight on them, like a heavy pan or book, until they dry. 

But then I decided they work perfectly for this book because it's toe-curlingly sexy! 


March and Jules met five years ago when Jules was an interstellar exchange student at a university on Earth and March was a teaching assistant. Their relationship was like a movie montage of romance and hot sex. Young and attractive with their whole lives ahead of them. 

Well, until that night when Jules packed up and left without saying good-bye. 

Time went on, March bonked a few more women but none of them replaced Jules. And along the way there was an accident and he was transformed from a sexy academic into a cyborg. 

This brings us to the current story. March has an assignment to deliver a spacecraft to Xenia, Jules' home planet. He'll only have a few hours on the planet, but has decided to spend them attempting to locate the elusive Jules. 

Imagine his surprise when he realizes that Jules is actually Princess Julietta, eldest daughter of the emperor, and that the spacecraft he's delivering is meant to be a gift for her and her soon-to-be-mate. 

At this point, you're probably assuming that the man who is to become Julietta's mate is a big jerk. I know that's what I expected. But he wasn't. Even March liked him. 

Argh. Now what? There's the hero that I know she's supposed to end up with, but the guy she's expected to marry is charming and attractive. Plus, Xenia is a country where monogamy is considered sort of a sentimental weakness. Hmm. Could this turn into some sort of interstellar threesome? 

Nope. March, a possessive and dominant warrior, has no interest in sharing. But how can he and Julietta be together when tradition, the seer and potential political upheaval are against them? And then there's the plot to frame March for murder. 

You'll have to buy your own copy to find out. Trust me, you won't be disappointed. 

I highly recommend this book. It is well written and professionally edited. I know when I pick up a Cara Bristol book I won't be jabbing a knitting needle in my eye over typos, grammar errors or cliches. 

In addition, the descriptions are lush without being over the top and the pacing and plot keep the pages flipping. 

This book includes hot sex, a two hundred year old woman with funky tufts of hair, unusual animals, state sanctioned fighting for women, and several people who are not exactly as they appear. 

Go get your copy! 




Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Review---Claiming Their Princess by Sue Lyndon



     "I'm going to give you a dozen more spanks to the most sensitive part of your little backside. Right here," he said, now caressing her sit spot. "After that, if you still refuse to tell me why you've been a bit naughty lately, and why you intentionally broke a rule today, I will punish your bottom hole." 
      That got her attention [mine too!]. She peered over her shoulder and met his gaze, her eyes wider than ever. Pure shock covered her face. "What do you mean? H-how?" 
      He lifted an eyebrow at her. "I will coat one finger with the wetness from you cunny," he said, drawing a digit through her still gathering moisture, "then I will push into your tight bottom hole with that finger and pump it in and out of you." 

And that's when I dropped a knitting needle...

Sue Lyndon's Claiming Their Princess is a sequel to Claiming Their Maiden. Both books are set in the land of Banded Men where sons are born as twins, one light and one dark, one functions mostly in the day and the other at night. Traditionally the brothers bond with a single woman so that one may protect and care for her in the light and the other when darkness falls.

Of course, in those hours where there is some overlap (and possibly some strong black tea), both brothers will claim their mate together.

However, sharp eyed readers will notice that there are three men on the cover of Claiming Their Princess. Triplets? No. Two sets of twin brothers from the same family (that's 4 brothers total) set off for war. When one twin was killed, it looked like his twin would have to live a life of celibacy. But, the complete set of twins invited him to join them in taking a mate.

Thus, three dominant, loving, sexy, yet distinct, warriors for our heroine Laina. Initially, she bonds with each man separately, but we all know it's just a matter of time before the three brothers claim her at once. Delicious anticipation and a pantie wetting payoff.


5 knitted stars for Claiming Their Princess!

Graphic sexual content, anal sex, oral sex, and multi-partner intercourse as well as spanking of an adult woman.

Get your copy

Amazon 
Amazon UK
B&N



Monday, January 2, 2017

Knitted Stars Pattern

If you're going to have a review site, you need a way to evaluate whatever it is you're reviewing, right? Most places use stars so I decided to do the same, but with my own spin, so to speak.
Isn't that cute? 

 I needed a few more. 

I also thought it looked like a flower, so I tried a variation. I don't like all the white in the center so if I do another flower, I'll use two or more colors in the middle. 

So, how did I make these stars? Because I don't own the pattern, I don't want to reproduce it here. You can go to the original location of the pattern by clicking here. 

Notes on the pattern--I had a lot of trouble ending up with the amount of stitches that I was supposed to have at the end of each increase row. I'm not sure why. I ended up doing extra rounds to add more stitches, as a result, my stars don't have the nice spiral pattern that the ones from the pattern have. 
Also, the pattern calls for making two stars and sewing them together. Since I only want to photograph one side, I decided not to make the additional stars to attach. 

Use double pointed needles to get the center started. 


Each of the points gets worked separately.  

Then work in the ends, sew a second star on the back depending on your planned use and there you go. A knitted star!